What are the topics covered by the CIA training

The Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) certification is a globally recognized standard for professionals in governance, risk management, and control processes. It is not just a credential but a testament to an individual's proficiency in navigating internal audit functions. The program covers foundational principles, practical application of audit engagement management, and broader business knowledge. It goes beyond theoretical learning, immersing candidates in real-world scenarios and case studies. The CIA certification serves as a benchmark in a dynamic business landscape, indicating an auditor's capability to assess risks, uphold ethical standards, and contribute significantly to an organization's success.
The content is strategically structured, covering The curriculum spans three integral parts, strategically tailored to empower professionals with a nuanced understanding of governance, risk management, and control.

Part 1 emphasizes the foundations of internal auditing, encompassing aspects like governance, risk management, and control.

Part 1 contains six domains covering the foundation of internal auditing; independence and objectivity; proficiency and due professional care; quality assurance and improvement programs; governance, risk management, and control; and fraud risk. Part 1 tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities related to the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

Part 2 delves into the application of these principles, focusing on managing the internal audit engagement. 

The 4 domains in PART 2 focus on managing the internal audit activity, planning the engagement, performing the engagement, and communicating engagement results and monitoring progress. Part 2 tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities particularly related to Performance Standards and current internal audit practices.

Part 3 explores business knowledge essentials, ensuring auditors understand the broader organizational context.

 The four domains in PART 3 focus on business acumen, information security, information technology, and financial management. Part Three is designed to test candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities, particularly as they relate to these core business concepts.

Details of the CIA Exam

?     Section 1: Fundamentals of Internal Auditing
         125 questions and 2.5 hours (150 minutes)
?     Section 2: Internal Auditing Practice
100 questions and 120 minutes (two hours)
?     Section Three: Business knowledge for Internal Auditing
100 questions and 2.0 hours (120 minutes)


The CIA program goes beyond theoretical knowledge, integrating practical case studies and real-world scenarios to hone skills relevant to the dynamic landscape of internal auditing. Aspirants emerge not just with a certification but with a profound understanding of governance, risk, and control—crucial elements in safeguarding organizational integrity and effectiveness. The CIA training, thus, stands as a comprehensive educational journey, shaping professionals capable of navigating the complexities of internal audit domains with precision and understanding.

Back to Top