7 Requirements for CIA Certification

Requirements for CIA® Certification

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) certification is offered by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) to professionals working or interested in the field of internal auditing. CIA certification sets the standard for excellence within the internal auditing profession. 

CIA certification is globally recognized for internal auditors and a key certification to grow in your career and take it to the next level. CIA offers auditors credibility, exhibiting to your co-workers knowledge, skills, and competencies gained to effectively carry out the roles and responsibilities of an internal auditor in any part of the world. It is also decisive certification to demonstrate that you are ready to take up promotions and excel in critical, decision-making roles.  

Where do I start?

The first step towards pursuing any certification course is to research and connect with experienced professionals to know more about the course and its benefits in real time situations. Additionally it is also essential to know about the authorizing body – IIA and their process to understand and have the complete picture about CIA course and its benefits. 

Once, you have information about CIA course and are keen to pursue it is best to get in touch with suitable Ed-tech centers like MyLogic Business Management School that provides online live classes to students and professionals around the world. While pursuing such tough certifications, a mentor or guide can contribute immensely and make the preparation process much more enriching. 

7 Requirements for CIA Certification

IIA requires students to complete the CIA certification within 4 years of enrolment. To complete the certification IIA has set up the below requirements for candidates to qualify as a CIA – 

Education Requisite – To qualify as a CIA candidates must have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited university in any discipline. IIA also accepts candidates with five-to-seven years of verifiable employment in the internal auditing field

Work Experience – CIA certification mandates candidates to have a minimum of 2 years’ experience working in internal auditing combined with required documentation and employer verification. However, work experience from fields like external audit, internal control, compliance, and quality assurance are also accepted. 

CIA Exam – The main criteria to become a CIA is to pass the three part CIA exam. It is a computer-based exam that is administered in over 5000 Prometric testing centers around the world. The global pass percentage for the exam is around 40%.

Character Reference – IIA requires a character reference form filled out and signed by a co-worker with the designation of CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA, or CRMA. 

IIA Code of Ethics – One of the main requirements for IIA is for candidates to agree and follow IIA’s Code of Ethics

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) – It is essential that candidates complete their CPE and meet a range of CPE, requirements to stay up to date.

IIA Membership –IIA membership is not mandatory to write CIA exam or become a CIA. However, certain countries require candidates to be members to take the exam.

Back to Top